Middleton Place House Museum
Today's House Museum was originally built in 1755 as gentlemen's guest quarters, and is the only surviving portion of the original three-building residential complex that once stood overlooking the Ashley River. The two flankers, along with the main house, were burned by Union troops in February, 1865, just two months before the end of the Civil War. The South flanker, which today is the Middleton Place House Museum, was the least damaged of the three buildings and was restored to provide family living quarters. Through the generosity of Middleton family descendants, many original objects have returned to Middleton Place and provide authenticity in illustrating the story of the four generations of Middletons for whom Middleton Place was home.
House Museum Tours
Guests that stay at The Inn receive complimentary access to Middleton Place, and the Middleton Place House Museum! The House Museum successfully preserves history for visitors to enjoy, and is truly a unique house to tour. Reservations are recommended, and the cost is included in your stay. Please call (843) 266-7484 to check tour time availability.